The truth is that when we start in social networks, we don’t consider leaving them one day, even this deletion of your Facebook account only happens in very specific situations, or in any other social network of course.
But in this very short article I will explain step by step and in a very simple way how to delete a Facebook account permanently.
I think just as we need to know how to create a Facebook account, we also need to know how to delete or delete it, either because we use it or because we don’t have enough time.
Some reasons why Facebook might delete your account
- Present false personal information, especially with respect to first names.
- Impersonating someone else.
- Add friends abusively in a short period of time.
- In the event that there is a real risk of physical injury or a direct threat to public safety.
- Dangerous organizations that promote terrorist activities or organized crime.
- Create a profile when you are under 14 years old.
- Use a profile for commercial purposes.
- Send several messages in a group in a short period of time.
- Disregard intellectual property in the content we publish.
- Label other users indiscriminately in publications and photos.
- Publish other people’s private information on Facebook.
- Promote hatred, violence and discrimination.
How to delete your Facebook account
First of all, I would like to qualify the difference between disabling a Facebook account and deleting a Facebook account.
If you disable the Facebook account:
- You can reactivate it whenever you want.
- People will not be able to see your biography or look for you.
- Some information may still be visible (for example, the messages you send).
If you decide to delete your Facebook account:
- Once it is deleted, you can no longer access it.
- We delay the move a few days after your request. The deletion request is cancelled if you log back into your Facebook account during this period.
- Deleting data stored in backup systems can take up to 90 days. Meanwhile, you can’t access your information on Facebook.
- Some actions are not recorded in your account. For example, a friend of yours may have messages from you after deletion.
- Copies of some documents (e.g., files) may remain in our database, but they are separate from personal identifiers.
How to deactivate my Facebook account
You can temporarily deactivate your account and come back whenever you want.
To deactivate your account:
- Click on the menu at the top right of any Facebook page.
- Select Settings.
- Click on General in the left column.
- Select Manage your account and follow the steps below to confirm the action.
If you deactivate your account, the profile will no longer be visible to other people on Facebook and they will no longer be able to search for you on the platform. However, some information, such as messages you have sent to your friends, may still be visible.
If, after deactivating your account, you decide to return to Facebook, you can log in at any time with your email address and password to reactivate your account. Please note that if you use your Facebook account to connect to Facebook or another site, the account will be reactivated.
This way, your Facebook profile, including your friends, photos and messages, will be completely restored. Remember that you must have access to the email address you use to log in if you want to reactivate your account.
How to permanently delete my Facebook account
If you believe you will no longer use your account or if you have decided to permanently delete your Facebook account, it is recommended that you download a copy of your information before proceeding with this step, after which you can access the deletion of your account.
When you delete your account, users will not be able to see it on Facebook. It may take up to 90 days from the start of the process to delete everything you have posted, such as your photos, status updates or other data stored in backup systems. While we delete this information, other Facebook users will not be able to access it.
Some of the actions you perform on Facebook are not stored in your account. For example, a friend can still receive messages from you even after your account has been deleted. This information is not deleted when you delete your account.
We can also delete the account of a friend or family member with a medical disability by doing the following:
In the end, it’s a very respectable decision for the person who no longer wants to be on Facebook and decides to take the step and delete their account. Although this is the social network with the most active users right now and the one that moves the most traffic and money, we should always know how to permanently delete a Facebook account, if necessary.
Remember that it is very important to follow the guidelines and rules of the social network itself, because if we abuse our Facebook account, we run the risk of losing our account.
I remember that some time ago, I did a study of Facebook pages of companies in my city and that more than 40 percent of them were Facebook pages. 100 of them used a personal business profile, so they violated some of the social network guidelines and the worst thing is the risk they faced, because Facebook could delete their account at any time and lose their job for years.
Sometimes we wonder if people who are no longer there, whether friends or family members, should continue to exist on Facebook, perhaps to keep the memory alive or not to forget the faces of these people, but the truth is that it is a very personal and respectable decision, either to delete it or to keep it on time.