Given its recent popularity and potential to reach more people, this is an unusual problem, but it may be that if you want to eliminate or close your Instagram account (whether it is personal, professional or any brand you manage), you have doubts about its implications or the difference it would make if you choose not to do so anymore.
In the same way as when we want to delete a Facebook account, you should not unsubscribe and delete any trace of Instagram activity without first being completely sure.
And the fact is that deleting an Instagram account is certainly not a completely intuitive procedure, and you may even regret it later. First of all, think about it, because many professionals struggle every day to keep their accounts active and prevent the platform itself from closing them for violating Instagram policies.
Disable vs. close or delete an Instagram account
If you have definitely decided to delete the traces of an Instagram account, you should keep this in mind:
- Neither deactivation nor deletion of the account can be performed from a mobile device. Thus, in both cases, you will have to connect to Instagram from a computer.
- If you have not yet decided to permanently delete your Instagram account, you have the option to deactivate it or, as we say, to temporarily deactivate it.
Unlike the option to close an account, with the option to disable it, you will no longer appear in searches and the content of your account will not be visible to any other user.
How to deactivate an Instagram account
To deactivate your account (and not just log out of Instagram), follow these steps:
- Log in to your Instagram account from a computer.
- Click on your user profile to access the overview.
- Click on the box where you can read’Edit profile’.
- Your basic information will be displayed in the right column and the option’Temporarily deactivate my account’ will appear at the bottom.
- Select from the drop-down menu below the reason that you think best explains why you deleted your Instagram account.
- Re-enter your password and confirm that you wish to continue the process.
As you can see, there is no option that, as such and easily visible, allows you to disable Instagram, but you can only do it by making a detour.
Remember that, in this case, you will be able to reactivate and use your account whenever you want. All you have to do is log in.
Deleting an Instagram account
If you are completely convinced that you will no longer use a certain profile (you will no longer have any activity on Instagram), either because you do not know what to publish on Instagram or for any other reason, it is better to delete or permanently cancel your account.
This way, you will ensure that the information is deleted, although it is possible that some copies may remain in the company’s database without identifying you.
As for how to delete your Instagram account, although it is possible to do so, you will not find this option in your profile as in the case of deactivation. So how can you unsubscribe from Instagram? What you will need to do is the following:
- Go to the’Assistance’ or’Help’ section of Instagram. You will find this link at the bottom of the page, as well as many other options.
- Once inside, type in the search engine’delete account’, or a similar expression that reflects your desire to leave Instagram.
- You will get several results and you will have to open the one that best suits this process (usually the first one).
- At this point, you will need to follow the instructions to delete your Instagram account. In practice, you will be asked to click on a link, where you will also be asked why you want to leave Instagram, and you will be given the option to temporarily deactivate the account instead of deleting it.
- When you select one of the reasons, you will receive a series of tips to try to convince yourself that it is better to stay and not choose to delete your Instagram account (and rightly so!).
- If you want to continue, enter your password and click on “Delete my account permanently”.
Remember: It is quite possible that as an active user of this social network, you have uploaded a lot of content to your profile, especially photos and stories. If you do not want to lose this information, and knowing that Instagram does not offer the possibility to upload all your photos quickly and easily, it is better to use platforms like InstaPort.
In short, the difference between temporary deactivation or deactivation and permanent deletion of your Instagram account is that in the first case, it is possible to recover it.
Whenever you want, it will be visible again and you can publish new content to interact with your audience and continue to grow your community.